Vanier declared 2020 TCR Champion

Vanier declared 2020 TCR Champion
Fidani gets GT Sport Title

Calabogie (ON), Sunday, August 30, 2020 – CTCC presented by Pirelli has just concluded the 2020 racing season at Calabogie Motorsports Park. Another amazingly competitive double-header contest seasoned with a cocktail of weather changes.

Saturday was inevitably cold and wet, following the remnants of Hurricane Laura. All sessions were held in the rain, sometimes heavier than expected. It goes without saying that tire management was crucial and almost all competitors went out to qualify dressed in wet tires, except for one fearless driver, Damon Sharpe (#84 Audi RS3 LMS/Blanchet Motorsport), who chose to go out with slicks. Since there was a chance for dry conditions this could have been a very smart decision if mother nature would have been a tad more accommodating. Unfortunately, it was not the case.

Ahead of the game was TCR class leader Zachary Vanier (#9 Audi RS3 LMS/Pfaff Motorsport) who performed once again impeccably well. The 17-year-old Garson (ON) rookie managed the rain like it was not even there. Consistent with his previous performances this season, he crossed the checkered right behind Orey Fidani (#13 McLaren/AWA)  who led a perfect race in GT Sport but not without a fight, being caught in the TCR traffic (due to the rain). The TCR top three finishers were Vanier, followed by Travis Hill (#41 Audi RS3 LMS/TWOth Autosport) and Marco Cirone (#82 Audi RS3 LMS/Mark Motors).

Sunday’s contest was quite the opposite in terms of weather. A very comfortable dry and sunny day was setting the way to the last Round of the season. A Round that is to count for double points in the Championship.

With perfect qualifying times, Fidani and Vanier filled the front row of the starting grid, first in their respective class. As the front pack gets away from the others, a strong TCR battle for the lead develops between Vanier, Montour and Cirone and lasted until the end of the race. Both Louis-Philippe Montour in his #45 Volkswagen GTI/GT Racing and Cirone in his #82 Audi RS3 LMS/Mark Motors were closely chasing Vanier lap after lap, waiting for a mistake. Because Vanier ran without faults, he arrived at the checkered 0.713 seconds before his closest rival, Montour. Cirone arrived third.

At the end of the race, the double points allocated to the competitors revealed no surprise as to who won the 2020 TCR Champion title. In addition to being declared Rookie of the year, Zachary Vanier is the youngest driver to have won a championship in CTCC. 

In the TCR Championship, the second position is awarded to Marco Cirone and Ron Tomlinson gets third.

CTCC would like to thank all drivers and their teams, Pirelli, Koni,  along with our preferred service providers B&G Racefuels, Touchette Motorsports and Racing Radios International to have made it possible in this Covidian era. A season that will be remembered as the shortest yet very competitiive season of all times. 

Fans can follow CTCC via our social media platforms.  Complete results and standings can be found on our website at

About CTCC

CTCC presented by Pirelli is a Sports Car Racing Championship and a leader in Canadian motorsport. It provides race fans with close and exciting competition between some of Canada’s finest and fastest race car drivers. CTCC takes pride in the fact that it is Canadian owned and operated, and that it is one of the longest-running professional sports car series in Canada. It showcases race cars based on their original street version since 2007.

Experience the rush of CTCC racing!

Source & Information:

Dominique Bondar
General Manager